Alumni Awards


Group of people in business attire standing on the rooftop of a DC building with the Washington Monument in the background

Members of the TSPPPA Advisory Board at the 2020 Alumni Awards ceremony

Every year, the Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Public Administration recognizes exceptional alumni who are changing the world through their work. Among our outstanding awardees are ambassadors, vice admirals and lieutenant commanders, nonprofit and business founders, government affairs experts, presidents of universities and much more.

We offer three annual commendations: the Recent Alumni Award, the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Service to the School Award.


About the Awards

Dominique Harris

Dominique Harris, MPA '11, Recent Alumni Awardee


Recent Alumni Award

This award honors graduates within the past 10 years who are at the early stages of their careers and have already distinguished themselves while demonstrating the promise of even greater achievements in the future.

Mark Esper smiling at a podium

Mark Esper, MPA '95, Distinguished Alumni Awardee


Distinguished Alumni Award

This award honors graduates (more than 10 years post-graduation) who have made a lasting influence on society through outstanding professional, volunteer and/or philanthropic accomplishments.

Robert Goldenkoff

Robert Goldenkoff, MPA '87, Service to the School Awardee


Service to the School Award

This award honors an alumnus/a or friend of the school who has shown exceptional and unselfish dedication to the Trachtenberg School, expressed the mission of the school to others and encouraged the support of alumni and/or students. Service may be in the form of volunteer or philanthropic support.


Past Awardees

  • Lieutenant Commander Paul Miller, MPA '14
  • Commander Zeita Merchant, MPA '10
  • Dominique Harris, MPA '11
  • Kristen Easterday, MPA ‘07
  • Emily St. Martin Lord, MPA '08
  • Kara Ryan, MPP '07
  • Alex Lawson, MPP '08
  • Ambassador Susan Schwab, PhD '93
  • Vice Admiral Scott Buschman, MPA '96
  • Amy B. Peeples, MPA '91
  • Dr. Mark Esper, PhD '08
  • Jeff Marootian, MPA ‘03
  • Dr. David J. Bernstein, MPA '83 and PhD '00
  • Dr. Cynthia Pierre, PhD '06
  • Dr. Jeffrey Levi, PhD '99
  • Commander Timothy Cronin, MPA ’08
  • Dale Didion, MPA ’83
  • Christa Fornarotto, MPP ’05
  • Dr. Nancy Potok, PhD ’09
  • Michael Stinziano, MPA '04
  • Frank DiGiammarrino, MPA '95
  • Edwin Verburg
  • Dr. Demetra Nightingale, PhD '98
  • Alfredo Campo, MPA '86
  • Allison Gurnitz, MPA '91
  • Claudia Oakes, MPA '83
  • Dr. Kathryn Mohrman, PhD '93
  • RAdm. John M. McConnell, MPA '86
  • Robert Efrus, MPA '82
  • Kenneth Yellis, MPA '87
  • Mary Beth Morgan, MPA '97
  • Susan Brita, MPA '83
  • Winnie Stachelberg, MPA '90
  • Michael Freimuth, MPA '79
  • Mark Duffy, MPA '82
  • Nancy Tate, MPA '80
  • Adm. Thad Allen, MPA '86
  • John Berry, MPA '78
  • Matthew Crouch, MPA '90
  • Dr. Jay White, PhD '82
  • Michelle Mrdeza, MPA '83
  • Dr. Anne DeBeer, PhD '80
  • William Haden, MPA '65
  • Dr. Harry West III, PhD '73
  • Christopher Smith, MPA '86
  • Sec. Henry Cisneros, PhD '76
  • Elizabeth Craig, MPA '83
  • Gen. John Vessry Jr.
  • Natalie Flores Prim, MPA '03
  • Rep. Gilbert Gude
  • Cpt. Patrick Stillman, MPA '88
  • Robert Goldenkoff, MPA '87